The Theory of Causal Fermion Systems

Events

Here you find information on conferences, workshops and seminar talks related to causal fermion systems.

Working Seminar "Mathematical Physics" in the Winter Term 2021/22

The seminar takes place in a mixed format, both in the lecture room and via Zoom. If you would like to attend the talks, please let us know via email. We will send you the Meeting-ID and password.

  • Thursday, October 21, 2021, at 8:30 (always German time):
    Magdalena Lottner, Universität Regensburg, “The fermionic entanglement entropy in the Schwarzschild geometry I”
  • Friday, October 22, 2021, at 14:30
    Magdalena Lottner, Universität Regensburg, “The fermionic entanglement entropy in the Schwarzschild geometry II”
  • Thursday, October 28, 2021, at 8:30
    Claudio Paganini, Universität Regensburg, “Frequency splitting and spatial localization: Quantifying Hegerfeldt’s theorem”
  • Friday, October 29, 2021, at 14:30
    Felix Finster, Universität Regensburg, “The Hadamard expansion and its regularization”
  • Thursday, November 4, 2021, at 8:30: YouTube, Slides
    Clemens Sämann, Universität Wien, “Synthetic (metric) methods in General Relativity and Lorentzian geometry – Part 1: Lorentzian length spaces”
  • Friday, November 5, 2021, at 14:30: YouTube, Slides
    Clemens Sämann, Universität Wien, “Synthetic (metric) methods in General Relativity and Lorentzian geometry – Part 2: Applications”
  • Thursday, November 11, 2021, at 8:30
    Christoph Krpoun, Universität Regensburg, “Spin structures and the Dirac equation curved spacetime I”
  • Friday, November 12, 2021, at 10:15: YouTube, Slides
    Ettore Minguzzi, Università degli Studi di Firenze, “Causality theory for cone structures and the distance formula”
  • Thursday, November 18, 2021, at 8:30
    Thomas Semler, Universität Regensburg, “Topologische Fermionsysteme und Vektorbündel”
  • Friday, November 19, 2021, at 14:30: Youtube
    Jeff Jauregui, Union College, “General relativistic mass in low regularity”
  • Thursday, November 25, 2021, at 8:30
    Christoph Krpoun, Universität Regensburg, “Spin structures and the Dirac equation curved spacetime II”
  • Friday, November 26, 2021, at 14:30: Youtube
    Demetre Kazaras, Duke University, “Harmonic functions, mass, and stability of the positive mass theorem”
  • Thursday, December 2, 2021, at 8:30
    Felix Finster, Universität Regensburg, “A Gauß-Bonnet theorem for causal fermion systems”
  • Friday, December 3, 2021, at 14:30
    Gandalf Lechner, Universität Erlangen, “Constructions of conformal QFTs from Borchers triples: non-local examples”
  • Thursday, December 9, 2021, at 8:30
    Johannes Wurm, Universität Regensburg, “Towards energy-momentum of a causal fermion system”
  • Friday, December 10, 2021, at 14:30:
    Christian Hainzl, LMU München, tba
  • Thursday, December 16, 2021, at 8:30
    Maximilian Jokel, Universität Regensburg, “Second Variations of the Causal Action for Regularized Dirac Sea Configurations”
  • Friday, December 17, 2021, at 14:30
    Daniele Volpe, Università di Trento, “Paracausal deformations of globally hyperbolic spacetimes and their applications in AQFT”
  • Friday, January 7, 2022, at 14:30
  • Thursday, January 13, 2022, at 8:30
    Sami Abdallah, Universität Regensburg, tba
  • Friday, January 14, 2022, at 14:30
  • Thursday, January 20, 2022, at 8:30
    Michelle Frankl, Universität Regensburg, tba
  • Friday, January 21, 2022, at 14:30
  • Thursday, January 27, 2022, at 8:30
    Saeed Zafari, Universität Regensburg, tba
  • Friday, January 28, 2022, at 14:30
  • Thursday, February 3, 2022, at 8:30
  • Friday, February 4, 2022, at 14:30
  • Thursday, February 10, 2022, at 8:30
  • Friday, February 11, 2022, at 14:30

Past Events

Working Seminar "Mathematical Physics" in the Summer Term 2021

The seminar takes place online via Zoom. If you would like to attend the talks, please let us know via email. We will send you the Meeting-ID and password.

Working Seminar "Mathematical Physics" in the Winter Term 2020/21

The seminar took place online via Zoom.

  • Friday, October 23, 2020, at 14:30 (always German time): YouTube
    José M. Isidro, Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, “An introduction to the chiral anomaly”
  • Friday, November 6, 2020, at 15:00: YouTube, Slides
    Michael Kiessling, Rutgers University, “On the general-relativistic quantum-mechanical spectrum of hydrogenic ions”
  • Thursday, November 12, 2020, at 8:30:
    Magdalena Lottner, Universität Regensburg, “The chain rule for causal fermion systems in the infinite-dimensional setting and Hölder continuity of the causal Lagrangian”
  • Friday, November 13, 2020, at 14:30: YouTube, Notes
    Felix Finster, Universität Regensburg, “A mechanism for baryogenesis in causal fermion systems”
  • Thursday, November 19, 2020, at 8:30:
    Marco Oppio, Universität Regensburg, “Hölder continuity of the integrated causal Lagrangian in Minkowski space”
  • Friday, November 20, 2020, at 14:30: YouTube, Slides
    Claudio Paganini, Universität Regensburg and Albert-Einstein-Institut, Potsdam, “Incompatibility of frequency splitting and spatial localization: A quantitative analysis of Hegerfeldt’s theorem”
  • Thursday, November 26, 2020, at 8:30:
    Christoph Langer, Universität Regensburg, “The Euler-Lagrange equations of the homogeneous causal variational principle”
  • Friday, November 27, 2020, at 14:30: Video
    Eduardo Guendelman, Ben Gurion University, “Non-canonical volume-form formulation of modified gravity theories and cosmology
  • Thursday, December 3, 2020, at 8:30: YouTube
    Felix Finster, Universität Regensburg, “A definition of entropy for causal fermion systems”
  • Friday, December 4, 2020, at 14:30: YouTube, Slides
    Wolfgang Spitzer, Fernuniversität Hagen, “Entanglement entropy of the ideal Fermi gas”
  • Thursday, December 10, 2020, at 8:30:
    Maximilian Jokel, Universität Regensburg, “Second variations of the causal action and baryogenesis”
  • Friday, December 11, 2020, at 14:30: YouTube
    Felix Finster, Universität Regensburg, “The quantum state induced by the universal measure”
  • Thursday, December 17, 2020, at 8:30:
    Saeed Zafari, Universität Regensburg, “The curvature of the Dirac sphere”
  • Thursday, January 7, 2021, at 8:30: YouTube
    Felix Finster, Universität Regensburg, “Baryogenesis in causal fermion systems: Conservation laws and scalings”
  • Friday, January 8, 2021, at 14:30: YouTube
    Christoph Langer, Universität Regensburg, “Causal variational principles in the infinite-dimensional setting: Existence of minimizers”
  • Thursday, January 14, 2020, at 8:30: YouTube, Slides
    Christoph Krpoun, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, “The Dirac equation and its separation in the Reissner-Nordström geometry”
  • Friday, January 15, 2021, at 14:30: YouTube
    Peter Müller, LMU München, “Entanglement entropy for quasi-free Fermi gases”
  • Thursday, January 21, 2021, at 8:30:
    Johannes Wurm, Universität Regensburg, “On the definition of the total mass for causal fermion systems”
  • Friday, January 22, 2021, at 14:30: YouTube
    Albert Much, Universität Leipzig, “Strict deformation quantization in curved spacetimes”
  • Thursday, January 28, 2021, at 8:30: YouTube
    Felix Finster, Universität Regensburg, “Baryogenesis in causal fermion systems: The dynamics of the regularization”
  • Friday, January 29, 2021, at 14:30: YouTube, Slides
    Sami Abdallah
    , Universität Leipzig, “Trace anomaly for chiral fermions”
  • Thursday, February 4, 2021, at 8:30: YouTube, Slides
    Christiaan van de Ven, Università di Trento, “Asymptotic equivalence of two strict deformation quantizations and applications to the classical limit”
  • Friday, February 5, 2021: Colloquium “Mathematical Physics Regensburg-Munich” jointly with LMU and TU Munich (co-organized with Dirk Deckert, Wojciech Dybalski and Peter Pickl)
  • Friday, February 12, 2021, at 14:30: YouTube
    Eric Ling, Rutgers University, “Spacetime extensions of the big bang”
  • Thursday, February 25, 2021, at 8:30:
    Magdalena Lottner, Universität Regensburg, “Towards an area law for the Klein-Gordon projector”
  • Friday, February 26, 2021, at 14:30: YouTube
    Claudio Paganini, Universität Regensburg and Albert-Einstein-Institut, Potsdam, “Ideas on baryogenesis”

Working Seminar "Mathematical Physics" in the Summer Term 2020

The seminar took place online via Zoom.

  • Thursday, April 24, 2020, at 8:30 (always German time):
    Felix Finster, Universität Regensburg, “The nonlinear surface layer integral and the symmetrized Fock norm I”
  • Thursday, April 30, 2020, at 14:30:
    Felix Finster, Universität Regensburg, “The nonlinear surface layer integral and the symmetrized Fock norm II”
  • Thursday, May 7, 2020, at 14:30:
    Felix Finster, Universität Regensburg, “Extending the commutator inner product in a surface layer”
  • Friday, May 15, 2020, at 14:30: YouTube
    Saeed Zafari and Felix Finster, Universität Regensburg, “Towards a Gauß-Bonnet theorem for causal fermion systems”
  • Friday, May 22, 2020 at 14:30:
    Claudio Paganini, Universität Regensburg and Albert-Einstein-Institut, Potsdam, “The ETH formulation of quantum theory I”
  • Friday, May 29, 2020, at 14:30:
    Magdalena Lottner, Universität Regensburg, “Entanglement entropy in the context of causal fermion systems”
  • Friday, June 5, 2020 at 14:30:
    Simone Murro, Università di Trento, “On the Cauchy problem for symmetric hyperbolic systems on globally hyperbolic manifolds with timelike boundary”
  • Friday, June 12, 2020 at 14:30: YouTube
    Felix Finster, Universität Regensburg, “Energy estimates and cone structures for the linearized field equations”
  • Friday, June 19:
    No talk because of LQP Workshop (see below)
  • Friday, June 26, 2020 at 14:30: YouTube
    Miguel Sánchez Caja, Universidad de Granada, “Some techniques related to Causality and Global Hyperbolicity”
  • Friday, July 3, 2020: Colloquium “Mathematical Physics Regensburg-Munich” jointly with LMU and TU Munich (co-organized with Dirk Deckert, Wojciech Dybalski and Peter Pickl)
  • Friday, July 10, 2020: Colloquium “Mathematical Physics Regensburg-Munich” jointly with LMU and TU Munich (co-organized with Dirk Deckert, Wojciech Dybalski and Peter Pickl)
  • Friday, July 17, 2020:
  • Friday, July 24, 2020 at 14:30:
    Marco Oppio, Universität Regensburg, “Symmetrized nonlinear surface layer integrals: An example in Minkowski space”

Seminar talks at Universität Tübingen, July 8 and 9, 2020

First Virtual LQP Workshop, June 17-19, 2020

The workshop took place online. For details see the conference website.

More information on past events can be found on the research page of Felix Finster at Universität Regensburg.